Deadwood

Deadwood/HBO/2002-2004 (Cerebral Palsy)

Jewel Caulfield (Geri Jewell), disabled woman working at the Gem, a frontier saloon and brothel in the town of Deadwood, South Dakota in the 1870s.

deadwood-jewel-caulfield-geri-jewell

Wearing a tattered dress (her only one) Jewel serves as the local’s cook, cleaner and waitress. Albert “Al” Swearengen (Ian McShane), the ruthless owner of Gem, employs Jewel out of pity (though he will never admit it). In her spare time, Jewel enjoys reading books about medicine in the American Civil War.

Some quotes by and about Jewel, the cleaning lady:

Jewel: Goddammit Richardson! Your too fuckin’ ugly to be sneakin’ up on people!

Jewel: I put out cinnamon.
Dan Dority: Where?
Jewel: The meeting table.
Dan Dority: On whose instruction?
Jewel: Cinnamon’s good with peaches.
Dan Dority: Do not put unauthorized cinnamon on the goddamn meeting table! That’s all the fuck we need.

Jewel: Say ‘I’m as nimble as a forest creature.’
Doc Cochran: You’re as nimble as a forest creature.
Jewel: No, say it about yourself.
Doc Cochran: I’m as nimble as a forest creature.

Al Swearengen: What was your purpose at Doc’s?
Jewel: I’m knocked up!

Al Swearengen: Hey Doc, how long were you planning on taking before you told me what the fuck was wrong with Jewel?
Doc Cochran: Nothing, nothing she wasn’t born with.
Al Swearengen: Mmm, I mean, she told me she was knocked up but I assumed that was her gimp sense of humor.
Doc Cochran: She wants me to brace her leg so her dragging it doesn’t drive you crazy.
Al Swearengen: So what’d you tell her?
Doc Cochran: Not to worry about your moods, that you generate those yourself and then you find your excuse for having ’em.
Al Swearengen: Saucy words Doc, good thing you’re handy with the snatch.
Doc Cochran: I had an idea for a boot, just now measured her for it.
Al Swearengen: If you treat her as successfully as you did the minister, she’ll be kicking up her heels in no fucking time.
Doc Cochran: I will leave you now to pursue another excuse.


Note:  Geri Jewell appeared on 23 episodes of this cable network western series.When asked how she mentally prepared for the cruelty her character Jewel endured on DEADWOOD, she said, “Emotionally I was able to relate to Jewel’s abuse, as having dealt with abuse myself in my adult life, and like myself, I played Jewel with a sense of resilience and strength. In fact, in some ways Jewel could kick ass much better than I could!!”

Born Geraldine Ann “Geri” Jewell on September 13, 1956, Geri Jewel was the first disabled actor to be featured in a recurring role (12 episodes) on a prime time TV series. She played Blair’s cousin, Geri Tyler on the comedy FACTS OF LIVE/NBC/1981-1984. Geri also appeared as Rose on 9 episodes of THE YOUNG AND RESTLESS in 2002.

See also: Facts of Life

Leave a Reply

