Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D/ABC/2013+ (Aphasia)

Leopold “Leo” Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), member of the Science Tech division of S.H.I.E.L.D., a Homeland Security agency designed to battle terrorism and the sinister agents of HYDRA. Injured in the line of duty, Leo suffered from Aphasia, caused by a lack of oxygen to his brain.

agents-of-shield-leo-fisk

Born in Scotland on Wednesday, August 19, 1987, agent Fisk is a genius engineer/scientist who attended the S.H.I.E.L.D. Academy of Science and Technology in 2004 with bio-chem expert Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge) who became his best friend and partner when they were hired to work for S.H.I.E.L.D.’s Sci-Tech division. They were recruited to Agent Coulson’s team and worked with them on all of their missions.

During the “HYDRA Uprising,” Fitz and other S.H.I.E.L.D. agents searched for clairvoyant John Garret, the head of the Centipede Project. During the mission, Leo learned that his fellow S.H.I.E.L.D. agent Grant Ward (Brett Dalton) was actually a sleeper agent for HYDRA.

When Ward found Fitz and Simmons hiding in a medical pod, instead of killing them (per his order from Garrett), he gave them a chance to live by jettisoning the pod which sank to the ocean floor. Fortunately, they escaped to the surface, (there was only one oxygen mask, and Fitz gave it to Simmons) but Fitz spent a long period of time without oxygen which damaged his brain. Consequently, he fell into a coma.

agents-of-shield-water-rescue-simmons-fisk

Jemma and Leo being rescued from the ocean by Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D.

When he awoke, Leo showed signs of aphasia, a language disorder that makes it difficult to communicate/remembering specific words or names. He now had a lowered speech rate and stumbled with words, especially when he gets agitated. He uses simple phrases rather than the long words he used to use. He also leaves his sentences hanging as he moves on to his next thought.

During his recovery, Leo exhibited signs of amnesia, personality regression, memory loss and hallucinations. As for his hallucinations, Leo talked to Jemma Simmons, his (no longer present) lab partner, for whom he held a strong romantic interest.

Fitz also lost the ability to understand metaphors, allegories and simple day-to-day phrases. For example when he hears someone say, “Guys, drop everything” he replies, “No, this is worth a fortune. I’m not going to drop it.” Another time, when he hears a comment about an impending dire situation (“Storm’s coming.”) Fitz responds, “No, weather’s fine, actually. There’s not a cloud in the sky, I checked.”

“Simmons is not real. I….I knew that. But I needed her, and she….she left. And everybody treats me like…like….like I’m broken. Like I can’t help…But I’m still….smart! I am! It’s just…hard, sometimes. And now Simmons is back, really back, and she’s trying to be nice and treat me the…the….the same.  But I know I’ve changed. I know I’m….different. And I can’t go back. I have new friends now. Mack….Mack helps me get the words right. He is patient and…and…and tells me I’m doing a good job. He understands.” – Leo Fisk

Fisk had a long road to recovery, but he slowly began to regain much of what he lost before his accident. He also learned that his friend, Jemma Simmons was alive and they soon became a couple.

Leave a Reply

