Sports Night

SPORTS NIGHT/ABC/1998-2000 (Deaf)

Louise (mentioned but not seen), the deaf sister of Jeremy Goodwin, Associate Producer & Research Analyst on a cable show broadcast from Rockefeller Center in New York City on the Continental Sports Channel (CSC), a unit of Continental Corp. Louise is a sophomore at Amherst College.

sports-night-jeremy-godwin

Joshua Malina as Jeremy Godwin who has a never seen deaf sister named Louise with whom he corresponds.

Her character was first mentioned on episode entitled “Dear Louise” (Season #1 Episode #7 aired November 10, 1998) when Jeremy Goodwin (Joshua Malina) wrote a letter to Louise discussing his new job at “Sports Night” and his impending romance with a fellow worker Natalie Hurley (Sabrina Lloyd), Senior Associate Producer.

“Dear Louise. It is a little after midnight on Thursday in the middle of the main news room at Sports Night. I can’t even begin to describe how much I love this place. I’ve only been here three months but it feels like home to me. Some of the guys asked me to go out with them after the show. That’s never happened before. I’d kind of like to join them so I am going to make this a short one (email). In your last letter, your asked me what Dan and Casey were like. And I can’t wait to tell you all about them in person but for now I will say is that as impressive as they are on the air, the thing that constantly amazes me is that the pressure of writing and performing a live show every night never gets to them…You’ve probably notice I haven’t said anything about Natalie Hurley in this letter. I’m sure you are reading in the newspapers about the incident in the locker room. Things have calmed down considerable since then. I fell asleep one night whole making her dinner but that’s a whole other story. But since that night, it seems like things have been awkward between us. It’s hard to resist the urge to ask her out but I doubt would do much to lessen the awkwardness.

While I was writing this just now. Something kind of cool happened. I was sitting here at 1:00am when I heard music coming from the studio. (drunken coworkers return from a bar and start to dance, then Natale kisses Jeremy). One last thing, Dan finally go over his writer’s block. He met Stacey Curd of The Smoking Dogs. Stacy plays on the professional beach volley ball tour. Turns out that Stacey is a fan of Dan and was particularly taken by his writing. And in that moment, Dan was reminded why he want to write in the first place. The same reason anyone does anything. To impress women. Stay out of trouble, Louise. Love, Jeremy”

On episode “Louise Revisited” (Season #2 Episode #4 aired October 26, 1999) we discover that Jeremy is nervous when he finds out Natalie is writing to Louise.

Leave a Reply

